purge CRM data

 

Purging bad and outdated data from your database is an important part of maintaining CRM data.

Insycle makes it easy to delete records from your CRM, in bulk, using flexible rules. By deleting garbage records in bulk with Insycle and removing bad and low-quality data, you can:

  • Keep your teams focused on the more important data that you’ve collected
  • Improve the searchability and segment-ability of your CRM data
  • Remove outdated and low-quality data
  • Improve personalization

With Insycle's Bulk Operations module, you can bulk delete bad data and lift the accuracy and quality of your database as a whole.

How It Works

You can use the Health Assessment to track invalid and missing data in your database. Then use the Bulk Operations module to delete records that are not useful—such as records missing an email or other vital information that you need to engage with them.

Insycle will delete the record in full. You can access the deleted data in the Activity Tracker and re-import the partial records if needed.

Summary

First, you filter your data down to the records that you would like to delete, based on rules. Then, you tell Insycle to delete them. You can run it as a preview, which allows you to see the updates in a CSV rather than pushing them live to your CRM to ensure that you are deleting the correct records.

All changes made to data are available to review at any time through the Activity Tracker.

Step 1: Define Filter

To delete records in bulk, we will use the Bulk Operations Module. Navigate there.

First, we have to select the record type — contacts, companies, deals, or comparable record type in your CRM — so that we can bulk delete the correct records.

For the example in this article, we will be deleting contacts that do not have an email listed in the database.

In Step 1, we set our filter which helps allows you to identify these records.

 

With this filter in place, all contacts without an email will be identified. By clicking the yellow “Search” button in Step 1, we’ll be able to preview the contacts identified using this filter.

 

When you make changes to the filter, you will need to click the Search button again to reload this preview.

Step 2: Choose Delete

In Step 2, we delete these records. This is done easily, by selecting the Delete Tab from the Step 2 navigational menu.

 

There are no further configurations or settings in this tab, as we have already filtered the records that we would like to delete in Step 1.

However, remember that you can select individual records to delete from the Record Viewer at the bottom of the screen as well.

 

Step 3: Preview or Update

Now, with our Filter and delete Action in place, we can run the bulk operation to delete our selected records.

When running the Bulk Operation module and before deleting data, especially the first time, it is a good idea to run in Preview Mode.

This allows you to view the changes to the data in a CSV file before the updates are pushed to your database. Here, you can check to make sure that everything is working as expected and make any necessary changes before pushing the updates to your live database.

You can do this by clicking the Review Button in Step 3.

preview

 

A popup will appear. Here, in Stage 1: Mode, we can select the Preview Mode or Update Mode. In Preview Mode, would-be changes are reviewable in a CSV file, but your CRM database is not updated. If you choose Update mode, the data changes will go live in your CRM when the operation is processed.

 

Then click the "Next" button.

In Step 2 of the Review process, you can choose where you send the generated report. Your email will automatically be added to the list but can add other co-workers and colleagues here as well.

 

Once finished, click the “Next” button.

In Step 3, you can choose whether you would like this operation to run one time, or continuously.

There are two tabs on this screen — Automate and Run Now.

 

When you select the Run Now tab, you are choosing to run the delete operation one time, immediately. Here, you can choose the number of records that you would like to update with the operation. You can run it on the records selected from the preview, on a small chunk, or on all of the records that met the filter criteria.

 

Alternatively, you can schedule this module to run on a set, recurring basis in the Automate tab.

Here, you can choose to schedule this operation to run hourly, daily, weekly, or monthly. When scheduled, the Module will automatically run on your desired schedule and email the reports after it has run. You can view all scheduled automations on the “Automations” page on your dashboard.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I restore deleted data?

Not directly. You can access the deleted data in the Activity Tracker and re-import the partial records if needed.

How can I identify bad data to purge?

The Health Assessment tracks many types of invalid and low-quality data that make great candidates for purgeable data.

Preview Changes Before They Go Live

You can preview the changes that you are making to your data before those changes are pushed to your live database. When you run select modules in Insycle, you have the option of choosing between Preview Mode and Update Mode once you click the button.

Automation

You can set up ongoing data maintenance automation with Insycle on the module level, using Recipes, or integrating with Workflows. You can view all scheduled automations on the “Automations” page on your dashboard.

For example, you could automatically delete records that do not have an email attached to the record, should that be a necessary data point for further engagement.

Audit Trail and History

The Activity Tracker lets you review all changes made through Insycle. At any time you can download a CSV report of the operation and records affected.

Additional Resources

Related Blog Articles

Related Help Articles

Additional Resources